Not Another Hair Post

We’ve all read like 15  different blog posts about growing our hair out or keeping our hair healthy, at least I have. And I would say I’ve picked up a few tips. My hair routine would probably be considered pretty basic by the standards that some of the other blogs I’ve read have set, but here it is anyway.

  • I wash my hair every third day. Yes, I know, it sounds gross, but really it’s not. I had thought the same thing at first. It takes a while for your hair to get used to getting washed less but once it does you’ll hardly be able to tell the difference between day 1 and day 3.
  • I also only use shampoo on my scalp and condition on the tips of my hair. Meaning I only wash my scalp and only moisturize the driest part of my hair. It also helps with volume.
  • I always do a vinegar rinse in my hair after I wash it. Your scalp is naturally slightly acidic so it brings your hair closer to its natural state. I take roughly a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar in a plastic cup and dilute it in the shower after I rinse out my conditioner. I let it sit for a minute or so then rinse it out with cool water.
  • That being said I always do my last rinse with cool to cold water as it seals the follicle and helps prevent hair loss and it decreases frizziness.
  • Every other time I wash my hair or every 6 days I use coconut oil in my hair. It helps with split ends and it leaves your hair feeling amazing, given you wash all the oil out. You will need a little more shampoo then you normally use to make sure you get the oil out.
  • I’ve also begun massaging my scalp which encourages healthy growth as it stimulates the blood vessels.

????????????????????????????

So there it is, everything I currently do to my hair and a picture to show you what doing this looks like. I will probably be adding to this in a few weeks as I hope to start doing a mustard powder oil treatment that should rapidly increase hair growth. I’m currently working on growing my hair out so I can cut all the color from when I dyed it last year and from there I plan to just continuously grow my hair out for a few years. Any additional tips or questions go ahead and post them. 🙂

~Ana

~ by Ana on July 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
